Community Development
Contact Info
CDD Director Paul Andrus

Paul Andrus - Community Development Director 

The Community Development Department is made up of four divisions: Planning, Building Safety, Housing and Administration, with each having a vital role in the Department's mission to ensure well planned development and high quality construction practices in order to promote economic vitality and achieve the highest possible quality of life for the residents of Los Alamos.

The Department’s main goal is to provide consistent, timely, and solution-oriented land use planning, building permitting and inspection processes and housing policy and program development with the highest level of customer service in mind. Although many of the primary functions of the Community Development Department are essentially regulatory in nature, staff work with our customer base in a proactive manner, encouraging homeowners, businesses, developers, design professionals, and contractors to engage with them on their projects as early in the process as needed in an effort to provide the necessary education and technical expertise that will help to expedite the review process and ultimately result in a better overall experience for the customer and outcomes for the Community.

Administration

The Administration Division ensures quality customer service for permits, planning cases, business licenses, and code enforcement. Administration staff work with stakeholders, residents, design professionals, licensed contractors, and project managers engaged in the permitting process. Administration provides general support to internal and external customers. Administrative staff also oversee the system administration of the department's EnerGov permitting software, a responsibility currently shared with the Information Management Department.

Administration Staff:


Job Title Email Phone
Paul Andrus Community Development Director paul.andrus@lacnm.us (505) 662-8120
Francine Suazo Management Analyst francine.suazo@lacnm.us (505) 662-8349
Perry Rutherford Senior Office Specialist perry.rutherford@lacnm.us (505) 663-1727
Barbara Lai Senior Management Analyst barbara.lai@lacnm.us (505) 663-3436

Contact Info

505-662-8120

505-662-8363

cdd@lacnm.us

1000 Central Ave Suite 150

Monday - Friday:

8:00am - 5:00pm

Planning

Tamara Baer 662-8055

Planning Division Page

Planning acts in an advisory role to appointed and elected officials in providing professional review, analysis, and recommendations regarding all land use related matters including the following development applications: Site Plans, Re-zoning, Waivers, Special Use Permits, Subdivisions, Comprehensive Plan amendments, and Development Code (Municipal Code Chapter 16) amendments.

With support from the Inter Departmental Review Committee (IDRC), Planning staff acts as case managers for all land use applications.

Planning Staff:

Name Job Title Email Direct Line
Tamara Baer Acting Principal Planner tamara.baer@lacnm.us (505) 662-8055
Anita Barela Assistant Planner anita.barela@lacnm.us (505) 662-8006
Anders Millmann Senior Planner anders.millmann@lacnm.us (505) 662-8116
James Naranjo Assistant Planner james.naranjo@lacnm.us (505) 662-8097

Building Safety

Michael Arellano 662-8114

Building Safety Division Page

Building Safety Division reviews building permits,provides plan reviews (residential & commercial), conducts Inspections, and performs Code Enforcement of the Nuisance Code (Municipal Code Chapter 18) with support from the Fire, Police, Public Works, and Public Utilities Departments.

Building Safety Staff:

Name Job Title Email Direct Line
Michael Arellano Building Safety Manager and Chief Building Official michael.arellano@lacnm.us (505) 662-8114
Lee Brammeier Senior Building Inspector lee.brammeier@lacnm.us (505) 663-3447
Amy Danforth Permit Technician amy.danforth@lacnm.us (505) 663-1894
Joe Dudziak Senior Building Inspector joe.dudziak@lacnm.us (505) 662-8129
Adrienne Lovato Senior Permit Technician adrienne.lovato@lacnm.us (505) 662-8293
Larry Valdez Code Enforcement Inspector larry.valdez@lacnm.us (505) 662-1895
Michael Marquez Code Enforcement Inspector michael.marquez@lacnm.us (505) 662-8989

Housing and Special Projects

Andrew Harnden 662-8122

Housing and Special Projects Division Page

The Housing and Special Projects Division provides oversight on all County housing-related initiatives. The Division develops and implements programs to improve and increase amount and variety of housing in the County to attract workers and students and give more options for seniors to stay in the community. Division staff also provide project management oversight on special projects as required by the Community Development Department, such as the A-19 Site Development.

Building permits can now be processed online with our Citizen Self Service Portal.