Notice of Value
The County Assessor must mail Notice of Values on or before April 1 of each year unless an extension has been granted by the New Mexico Property Tax Division. If you believe that the Full Value of your property, shown on your Notice of Value, does not reflect market value, you must come to the Assessor's Office and file a protest petition within 30 (thirty) days of the mailing of the notice of value. Our staff will be happy to meet with you, go over any information you might have and share with you the information used to value your property. The 2 (two) methods for protesting values, denial of exemptions, classification, allocation of taxes to a governmental unit or limitation in value increase as provided by state law are as follows:
File a petition of protest with the county assessor within 30 (thirty) days of the mailing of the notice of value, or
File for a claim of refund in district court after paying the property taxes before the delinquent date.
2017 Notice of Value
Mail Date: March 31, 2017
Protest Period: All protest forms must be returned to the Assessor's Office by 5:00 p.m., April 30th, 2017.
Under New Mexico State Law, Chapter 7, NMSA 1978, 7-38-17, the following exemptions are available for individual property taxation exemptions and institutional/governmental exemptions for eligible taxpayers:
- Head-of-Family: $2,000 reduction of net taxable value. Most home owners qualify for this type of exemption
- Veteran: $4,000 reduction of net taxable value. Must obtain a green colored "Certificate of Eligibility" from the NM Department of Veteran Services.
- Disabled Veteran: 100% exemption from property tax. Must obtain a gold colored "Certificate of Eligibility" from the NM Department of Veteran Services.
- Low Income and over age 65 or Disabled Valuation Limitation
Applications must be filed within 30 days of the mailing of the Notice of Value of the current tax year for which the exemption is to be applied.